Skip to content
Posted: 4/02/20

TAMIU Initiates 59 New Members of Phi Kappa Phi Honor Society


PKP Logo

Texas A&M International University’s (TAMIU) Phi Kappa Phi Chapter 296 inducted 59 members into TAMIU’s Chapter of the nation’s oldest and most selective all discipline honor society in ceremonies held in the Center for the Fine and Performing Arts Theatre recently. 

A welcome was provided by Chapter president Dr. Lola Orellano Norris, TAMIU associate professor of  Spanish, and the keynote was provided by TAMIU’s Dr. John Kilburn, associate vice president for Research. 

The initiation of new members was led by Dr. Norris assisted by  Dr. James Norris, Chapter secretary; Laura Elizondo, treasurer; Mary Treviño, Chapter awards director, and Mayra Can, student vice president.  A reception followed the program.

The new members initiated are: 


Carolina Almanza, Prakash Aryal, Melissa Bustamante, Sophia M. Grace, Madison R. Guerra, Han G. Ly, Jaaziel Menchaca, Lizbeth Nelson, Melissa Ortega, Felipe J. Rodríguez, II, Rebecca Rodríguez, Regina A. Rodríguez, Brianna N. Tijerina  and Chelsea Itzel Villarreal.


Alma Mayela Acosta Cárdenas, José Brosig, Lesvia Lineth Celedón Villarreal, Juan Miguel Cervantes, Yolanda Adela Contreras, Analaura Galván, Dora Yamile García, José Rogelio García, Cecilia García Guerrero, Andrea Alejandra González, Casey M. Hourigan, Jorge Jimenez, Djorkaeff Lopez, David I. Márquez, Eduardo R. Martínez, III, Juan Antonio Montemayor, Eduardo Moreno, Christian Adrián Pérez, Cinthia I. Salinas, Valeria C. Valdez, Leocadia Villarreal and Denise Walker.


Aisha Christa Atkinson, Patricia Boone, Jessica Denise Chandarlis, Rebecca Davalos, Christian Alexis Flores, Itzamara Flores, Linda Y. Flores, Mónica Garza, Esmeralda Kubecka, Lorena D. Madriaga, Andrea Martínez, Cindy García Martínez, Maribel Medrano, Angelica María Morales, Ana Patterson, Rebecca Ashley Ramírez, Daniel Alejandro Rivas, Vivianna Rodríguez, Talisha Salas, Eloy Santa Cruz, Jr., Alexis M. Segura, Felipe N. Sierra and Patricia Analí Sosa.


Faculty and staff members inducted included Dr. Andrew J. Hazelton, Dr. Tonya Huber, Dr. Jacqueline A. Mayfield, Dr. Monica Orozco Mendez and Yeltiza Marie Howard. 

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective all discipline honor society. The Society’s mission is to recognize and promote academic excellence in all fields of higher education and to engage the community of scholars in service to others. 

For information on TAMIU’s Chapter 296, go to its website:

Online Registration at TAMIU begins Monday, April 6 for Maymester, Summer, and Fall classes.  All classes will be online in the TAMIU Virtual Classroom. 

As part of its response to the COVID-19 pandemic, TAMIU’s campus is closed to the general public. Online and virtual services at the University continue, practicing all CDC Guidelines on gathering and social distancing and with most staff working remotely.  Office hours are subject to change and it is recommended that phone or email contact be made first to determine the office’s schedule of operation. Entry to campus is only open to students, faculty, staff  and those having legitimate reasons to be on campus.  Masks should be worn in compliance with City orders effective 2 April, 2020. An online directory is here.

The University’s dedicated COVID-19 website is updated daily and includes information on office schedules and services, an expansive FAQ, quick links, student resources, official information links and much more.

PKP 2020 Group Photo
New members of TAMIU's Phi Kappa Phi, Chapter 296 were initiated in ceremonies in March at the Center for the Fine and Performing Arts' Theatre.